Fear sells

J’ai un peu de mal à trouver du temps pour lire en ce moment (ma faute !), alors avec un rendez-vous chez mon ophtalmologiste, je pensais pouvoir lire un peu dans la salle d’attente. Cela a été plus rapide que je ne le pensais, mais j’ai quand même tourné quelques pages de mon roman, World War Z, de Max Brooks, et de lire ce passage :

The only rule that ever made sense to me I learned from a history, not an economics, professor at Wharton. « Fear, » he used to say, »fear is the most valuable commodity in the universe. » That blew me away. « Turn on the TV, » he’d say. « What are you seeing? People selling their products? No. People selling the fear of you having to live without their products. » Fuckin’ A, was he right. Fear of aging, fear of loneliness, fear of poverty, fear of failure. Fear is the most basic emotion we have. Fear is primal. « Fear sells ».

Laisser un commentaire

